Back on the road again…

As I was on the phone with Southwest the other day I was asked the question, “where do you live during all of this (referring to my skeleton athlete status)?”

My response? Well, I guess I’m sort of a nomad…

Beautiful sunset in Newport, Rhode Island

Beautiful sunset in Newport, Rhode Island

At this, the customer service agent laughed- as did I- but the truth is, I’ve been here, there and everywhere the past few months and while my mail sent home to my parent’s house, I spend a great deal of time traveling from track to track.

Particularly this past month!

After team trials finished in Park City, UT I spent another week and a half there training.  I flew back to the east coast on Saturday, spent about 6 hours at home, and drove back up to Lake Placid, NY on Sunday.  While I’ll be up here training for a 2 week stretch, I was back on the road again on Thursday, this time to Providence, Rhode Island to watch my twin brother graduate from Navy Officer Candidate School.

The Ensign in Uniform!

The Ensign in Uniform!

I was an immensely proud sister watching D walk across that stage.  He’s seriously amazing, especially considering he had to go through 2 long months of OCS immediately after the birth of his first child, William Donald.  Donny will be home for Thanksgiving & Christmas and then will report back to Newport, RI to start Officer Supply Corps school in January. So proud of you D!

Now I’m back in LP (with a nice speeding ticket in hand…buzzkill!) and I’ll finish up my training before hitting the highway homeward bound on the 23rd for the Thanksgiving holiday.  Then it’s back on the the road again on November 30th, when I fly overseas to Austria and Germany for my first competitions of the season!

Donny & I near the bay.

Donny & I near the bay.

 

I’ll be overseas from November 30th through December 20th, when I fly back stateside.  So, to all my friends and family who are local…let me know what your plans are for the holidays! I’d love to see all of you either over Thanksgiving or the Christmas!  Cheers!

Leave a comment