2013 Combine Complete

It’s done, it’s done, it’s done!!!

Combine, complete! 

The past week has been so anxiety-inducing!

Last year the combine didn’t go so well for me.  I injured my hamstring half-way through the summer and between the long workouts and full-time job, I had zero time to recover.  My hamstring never got better and it was constantly something I had to deal with throughout the season.  While I passed the combine, it was by the skin of my teeth, scoring a 650 (which is the baseline score you need to pass).  Fortunately my push and sliding were just fine, and the coaches were aware of my situation so it wasn’t a problem, but it was definitely that I (being the perfectionist I am) didn’t feel proud of.

This summer we figured out what was causing all the discomfort and perpetual tightness and were able to get me back to normal!  Training went so much better this summer and I was able to focus on getting stronger and faster rather than just trying to get through a workout.

Even still, I was still super nervous this year.  

But it all turned out just fine!  I scored a 696 overall!  I improved big time in my sprints, which is no surprise since I was terrified to even try to sprint last year because I was afraid my hamstring would blow up. Even though I don’t feel completely at 100% yet, I’ve been feeling so much better.

My shot toss stayed about the same (13’0’’) while my broad jump improved (2.65), and my power clean and back squat both remained the same (72.5kg and 107.5kg respectively) which is fine because I’m 3 kilos lighter this summer than last, meaning my power to weight ratio is better.

Overall I’m really pleased with my performance and I now am starting to feel ready for the season now that this “formality” is out of the way.  I’m excited to start focusing more on pushing rather than upright sprinting. 

I’m also excited for my trip home! More on that later!