Barcelona!

Hola, from Spain!

Tyler, myself and Allen

Tyler, myself and Allen

One of the perks about competing in skeleton is the traveling- we will almost always have races overseas (particularly Germany) and because of such, it makes taking a little vacay pretty darn easy.

Last year I spent a few extra days in Germany traveling with my AUFH teammate, Annie and had an amazing time.  This year, several teammates expressed an interest in traveling and after some research settled on Barcelona!

And IT’S. BEEN. AWESOME.

La Bocqueria, a market off of La Ramblas.  Our usual breakfast spot for some freshly sliced jamon, prosciutto & fresh juices!

La Bocqueria, a market off of La Ramblas. Our usual breakfast spot for some freshly sliced jamon, prosciutto & fresh juices!

My teammates- Allen & Tyler- and I rented an apartment in El Barrio Gotic, an area filled with alleyways and winding streets that are strictly pedestrian only.  We wandered these streets by night, exploring all the different corridors and I’m fairly certain we’ve never made our way back to our abode the same way twice!

The Parc de la Ciutadella is Barcelona's most central park. An INCREDIBLE fountain can be found there!

The Parc de la Ciutadella is Barcelona’s most central park. An INCREDIBLE fountain can be found there!

We walked everywhere (which was a good thing considering we didn’t have access to a gym during our time here!) and crammed in as much as we could! We visited la Sagrada Familia and the Barcelona Catedral, we walked along Las Ramblas and along the coast in La Barceloneta, and we ate gelato and some of the best paella I’ve ever had (courtesy of the Montejano family!).  We also took the funicular and cable car up to the summit of Monjuic Castle, which boasted some of the most incredible views I’ve ever seen!

Barcelona is such an old, beautiful city full of history and beautiful culture.  My time spent here was well worth it, and I can’t wait to return in the future to continue my site-seeing (my eye’s on you, Museu Picasso and Museu Nacional d’Art de Catalunya!) and to enjoy this awesome city!

For now, I’ll spend tonight in Berlin, and then finally fly home for the holidays tomorrow morning!  I can’t wait to see my friends & family, and curl up by the fireplace with the Christmas tree shining brightly! Cheers, and thanks for following!

One thought on “Barcelona!

Leave a Reply

